Board of Trustees

Vermont Legal Aid is guided by an outstanding and diverse board of trustees with a strong commitment to expanding fairness and justice in the civil legal system.

Our board members include former clients, community and business leaders, and members of the private bar, as well as a staff representative. The VLA board members are:

Nanci Smith, Esq., President

John Shullenberger, Esq., Vice President

Robert Appel, Esq., Secretary

Hans Huessy, Esq., Treasurer


Joan Lavoie, Client Trustee

James May, Esq., Attorney Trustee

David Mickenberg, Esq., Attorney Trustee

Masiti Mohamed, Client Trustee

Jennifer Thayer, Client Trustee

Barb Prine, Esq., Staff Representative